Using NLP Techniques For Fitness

Posted on September 8, 2008. Filed under: Fitness | Tags: , , |

Have you heard of NLP? I am a Master of NLP and Coaching, and NLP or Neuro-Linguistic-Programming is all about using the science of language to change (re-program) your beliefs and habits. So if you’re a little like me and don’t really like exercise, you will often put it down the bottom of your list of priorities.

You know what I mean: every time you know you ‘should’ be exercising you find an excuse not to. So here are some tips to help you pre-program your mind to make fitness a higher priority in your life:

  1. First of all sit down quietly with a notebook and pen and ask yourself, “What do I want to achieve?” Make your statement in the positive e.g. “I want to be fit and slim.” as opposed to, “I don’t want to be fat and unhealthy.” We need the give our mind something of value to focus on and so it is much better to focus on what we do want and paint a pretty picture of it than it is to focus on what we don’t want. Why? Because the mind goes where it is directed and if it directed to a picture of you fat, this is not a pretty picture and it is not a goal to look forward to. It is known neurological quirk that the mind cannot hear the negatives when goal setting. It is like telling little Johnny not to fall as he climbs a tree, his mind will hear only the word ‘fall’ and so he does. If you tell yourself “I don’t want to be fat” take the negative ‘don’t’ from that sentence, what do you have?
  2. Now take a moment to really picture that goal, not the steps you need to take yet, just the end result; What does it look like? (you in a stunning bikini sunning yourself on the beach with all eyes on your gorgeous figure), What does it sound like? (WOW! look at you, you look amazing!) What does it feel like? (happy, happy, joy, joy and pride, confidence, sexy – I look good na na nana na na na! so good, so good…). Quickly while the picture is fresh in your mind write it all down always in positive sentences, “I look great with a toned figure and amazing abs…
  3. Now ask yourself, how will I know I am on track? “I will know I am on track when…” write this down. Make this something achieveable and with a built in accountability. I will know I am on track when I weigh ? and can fit into size ? jeans by ?/?/?? Don’t make this too difficult, better baby steps and really easily achiveable outcomes than rushing it and giving up in disgust.
  4. Now how will you know when you have reached your goal? “I will know I have achieved my goal when…” (I am lying on that beach feeling so confident in my body, in my size? bikini).
  5. What attributes will you need to accomplish this goal? Determination, resilience, persistance, motivation, initiative… how will I know that I have developed them? (I will know I am determined when… I will know I am resilient when…)
  6. How will I know when I am off track? and what is my action plan when that happens? (Be kind to myself, this is not failure it is just a course correction, so I will immediately forgive myself for being a little off track and get back on course). Here is a big clue for you, this is where most people give up, during a course correction. Did you know that at no time does anything steer directly toward a goal, not even a jet with auto-pilot, not even a rocket ship on course for the moon, not even your car and not even you when walking! Everything needs a course correction, those little adjustments you make to the steering wheel even on a straight road, are needed by all machinery even by a rocket ship going to the moon, and your body does it when you’re walking. So there is no failure only a course correction, right! Right!                                                                                                                          So get back on course, re imagine your result and reread your steps, and get going again. A bit like checking a map or navigation chart, just like Columbus navigating his way to the America’s.

Next post I will outline 10 more tips for using NLP for Fitness.

Be Fit! Be Well! Do it online… 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Using NLP Techniques For Fitness”

RSS Feed for Vibfitandwell’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

