Maintaining Moderate Exercise Levels Keeps Elderly Out Of Bed

Posted on September 14, 2008. Filed under: Fitness, wellbeing | Tags: , , , |

Are you getting a little older? I know I am, researchers have proved that people in their 40’s and 50’s need to keep fit. Not with lots of heavy or hard hitting exercise but with regular low to moderate exercise on a daily basis.

What is low to moderate exercise? A daily 30 minute walk, a 15 to 20 minute swim, a bike ride anything really that gets you moving for more than 20 minutes straight.  It’s ok you don’t have to do aerobics unless you really want to. I must admit I am not a fan of structured aerobics myself, I would much rather dance and right there is another fun way to get some moderate exercise.

Doctors have found that keeping up an exercise regime not only keeps you fitter, it boosts your immunity and improves your quality of life, allowing you to enjoy life for much longer,

“Maintaining muscle performance and arresting muscle wastage can offer older people real improvements in their quality of life,” says Dr Gladys Pearson, who led the research. “Though we still need to assess precisely what level of exercise gives the best results, we believe we’ve shown that regular low-resistance exercise complemented by the right nutritional supplements could boost the well-being of the UK’s ageing population.” Engineering and Physical Sciences Council (Physorg.com)

I know that as I age, I will have to be even more attentive to the amount of exercise I get, I walk, dance in the privacy of my living room, and I use my vibration platform daily for at least 10 minutes. When I get a chance to do some other form of exercise I only use it once in the mornings, but if it is raining I jump onto my platform twice about an hour and a half after lunch. This way no matter how I am feeling I can just stand there and let the platform do the work for me. It’s a bit like cheating 🙂 and I am losing weight on a daily basis without even trying!

Be Fit! Be Well! do it online…
Social Bookmarking

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Maintaining Moderate Exercise Levels Keeps Elderly Out Of Bed”

RSS Feed for Vibfitandwell’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

I prefer walking and swimming as exercise. Generally, I swim regularly for 20-30 minutes.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

